My Tech Talk in Google Developer Group DevFest Event 2012

On this Sunday 23rd December 2012, first ever official Google sponsored GDG DevFest event held in Pearl Continental Karachi. Google has postponed this event two times before due to the blasphemy film published on youtube.

I was invited in this event to do tech talk on Google Android technology. I declined the invitation as a protest. Then Google Developer Group (GDG) postponed the event. After a month again Google Developer Group planned the event on 23rd December 2012. I was again invited but again I declined the invitation.

At this time Google Pakistan Country Consultant Badar Khushnood invited me for personal meeting with him so that he can explain me Google perspective on why Google didn’t remove the blasphemy film. I accepted his meeting invitation and met with him alongwith President of PASHA Ma’am Jehan Ara and GDG organizers in PASHA office. In around more than one hour meeting he told me that there is no IT Law in place in Pakistan. If we have that in place then we must have youtube.com.pk domain and this domain will have videos content filtered according to country IT Law. In the meeting Badar Khushnood accepted my right for protest and gave me permission to include condemnation slide in my tech talk and to openly talk about it in the event. He somehow able to  convinced me that protesting in the event is better idea than boycotting the event. After deep thinking, I decided to accept the event invitation and include a condemnation slide in my tech talk.

In this blog I would like to thank GDG Organizer and Google Country consultant Badar Khushnood that they allow me to condemn the blasphemy act openly in the event.

The event started at 9:30AM morning and ended 6:00PM. It was a full day event. I would like to appreciate the GDG organizer efforts. The way they work very hard, they really deserved congratulation.

My tech talk was supposed to start at 3:30PM. It was little delayed and started around 3:50PM. When I arrived at the stage,I started tech talk with condemnation slide about the blasphemy act. There were four points that I mentioned.

  1. I would like to thank GDG organizer who allowed me to discuss this condemnation slide openly at this forum
  2. I condemn blasphemy act performed by individuals and organizations. and I would say one sentence to all of them “Shame on you“.
  3. I would like to thanks all minorities who stand with Muslim community on this wicked act of blasphemy.
  4. I would also like to address to my Muslim community to please be peaceful in demonstrating your protest. Don’t damage the properties and hurt other human person who has nothing to do with this wicked act of blasphemy.

After putting this four points before audience I read some stanza’s from Allama Iqbal famous poem named “Jawab-e-shikwa“. Below are these stanza’s:

ہو نہ یہ پھول  تو بلبل کا ترنم بھی نہ ہو
چمن دہر میں کلیوں کا تبسم بھی نہ ہو
یہ نہ ساقی ہو تو پھر مے بھی نہ ہو،خم بھی نہ ہو
بزم توحید بھی دنیا میں نہ  ہو، تم بھی نہ ہو

خیمہ افلاک کا استادة اسی نام سے ہے
نبض ہستی تپش   امادة اسی نام سے ہے

دشت میں، دامن کہسارمیں،میدان میں ہے
بحر میں، موج کی ا غوش میں،طوفان میں ہے

چین کے شہر، مراقش کے بیابان میں ہے
اور پوشیدة مسلمان کے ایمان میں ہے

چشم اقوام یہ نظارة ابد تک دیکھے
رفعت شان رفعنالک ذکرک دیکھے

کی محمد سے وفا تو نے تو ہم تیرے ہیں
یہ جہاں چیز ہے کیا، لوح و قلم تیرے ہیں

Presentation Slides:

Event Pictures:

DevFestSpeakerImam
Mr. Imam Raza conducting technical session on Google Android in DevFest 2012 event.
audience2
DevFest 2012 event participants
audience1
DevFest 2012 event participants listening Google hangout guest speaker.
BadarKhushnood
Google Pakistan Country Consultant, Mr Badar Khushnood is addressing in the event.
OrganizersWithBadarKhushnoodnJehara
DevFest Organizer group photo with Mr. Badar Khushnood,Google Pakistan Country Consultant and Madam Jehan Ara, president of PASHA.
BadarKhushnood_JehaaraWithRaheel
Gameloop CEO, Raheel Zubairi is in conversation with Mr. Badar Khushnood and Madam Jehan Ara in the event
One thought on “My Tech Talk in Google Developer Group DevFest Event 2012

  1. ” In around more than one hour meeting he told me that there is no IT Law in place in Pakistan. If we have that in place then we must have youtube.com.pk domain and this domain will have videos content filtered according to country IT Law.”

    This remains the same. Google does not wish to remove the blasphemous video outright but just want to filter it for Pakistan nationals.

    Shame on you Google!

Leave a Reply

